National Safe and Healthy Housing Coalition Workgroups

The National Safe and Healthy Housing Coalition has workgroups focused on operationalizing the Coalition’s policy priorities. The workgroups accept new members at any time. If you are interested in participating in a workgroup, contact the chairperson(s) or staff member associated with that group.

Join the Coalition workgroups.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee consists of between eight and 16 elected organizations that represent a cross-section of the membership. The Coalition will strive to ensure that the Steering Committee is balanced to represent diverse populations and housing types impacted by unhealthy housing. Two permanent slots on the Steering
Committee are designated for a local government organization and a local community-based organization. Steering Committee nominations are solicited from the Coalition’s general membership, with elections occurring every other year. Coalition members or nonmembers may be nominated by themselves or someone else by the announced deadline date. As the Coalition's founder, NCHH remains a permanent member of the Steering Committee. For a document further describing the roles and processes of the Steering Committee, click here.

Steering Committee Members
 National Center for Healthy Housing (Chair) 
 Alameda County Healthy Homes Department 
 Association of State and Territorial Health Officials 
 Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America 
 Boston Public Health Commission 
 Childhood Lead Action Project 
 Connecticut Children's Healthy Homes Program    
 Iowa Parents against Lead Poisoning  
 Lead and Environmental Hazards Association 
 National Association for State Community Services Programs 
 NeighborWorks America
 Omaha Healthy Kids Alliance 
 Rebuilding Together 
 Rural LISC 
 Seattle and King County Department of Public Health 
 Tribal Healthy Homes Network 

Codes and Standards Workgroup

Chair: Nan Feyler (Deputy Managing Director’s Office for Health and Human Services, City of Philadelphia)

Staff: Jonathan Wilson (National Center for Healthy Housing)


Support flexibility and leveraging of federal health, housing, and energy resources:

  • Promote adoption of the National Healthy Housing Standard and the International Property Maintenance Code.
  • Promote effective housing code administration and enforcement policies.

Medicaid and Affordable Care Act Workgroup

Chair: Courtney Wisinski (Michigan Department of Community Health)

Staff: Amanda Reddy (National Center for Healthy Housing)


  • Promote financing for home-based services to address environmental health and safety hazards.